Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee (ETTAC) January 28, 2025; 9:00 am – 3:30 pm EST U.S. Department of Commerce – Commerce Research Library

The Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee (ETTAC) convened the first meeting under its 2024 - 2026 charter from 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM EST on January 28, 2025. The meeting was attended in-person at the Commerce Research Library in the Herbert C. Hoover Building.

ETTAC Members Present:

Mr.	James (Tres) Bailey	Mr.	Jay Koh
Dr.	Rastislav Brezny	Ms.	Stephanie Lezcano
Mr.	Dennis Calvert	Mr.	Josh Mahan
Mr.	Thomas Cavett	Mr.	Jim Matharu
Mr.	Chuck Chaitovitz	Mr.	David Moth
Mr.	Henry Charrabé	Ms.	Kristyn Oldendorf
Ms.	Lina Chiaverini	Mr.	Jeremy Pollack
Ms.	Bella Corpora	Mr.	Ashish Raval
Mr.	John Corrigan	Mr.	Eric Reading
Mr.	Joesph Danyluk	Mr.	Jonathan Roumel
Mr.	Scott Daughtery	Ms.	Clare Schulzki
Mr.	Tom Dower	Mr.	Roderick Scott
Mr.	Richard Ebel	Mr.	Adam Shaffer
Ms.	Anne Germain	Mr.	Scott South
Mr.	Max Herzog	Mr.	Claudio Ternieden
Mr.	Patrick Hill	Mr.	Craig Updyke
Mr.	Jason Hochman	Mr.	Roberto Vengoechea
Ms.	Debra Johnson	Ms.	Ashley Voskhul
Mr.	Ajay Kasarabada	Mr.	David Yellen

Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration (ITA) Officials Present:

Bart Meroney, Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary, Manufacturing Adam O'Malley, Director, Office of Energy and Environmental Industries (OEEI) Megan Hyndman, Designated Federal Officer (DFO), ETTAC Evelina Scott, Secondary DFO & International Trade Specialist, OEEI Anna Cron, International Trade Specialist, OEEI Alec Hilton, International Trade Specialist, OEEI Victoria Yue, International Trade Specialist, OEEI Nathanael Cheng, Office of Standards and Intellectual Property

Other U.S. Government Officials Present:

Abigail Tierney, International Environmental Program Specialist, Environmental Protection Agency

Members of the Public Present:

David LaRoss, Inside U.S. Trade

Henry Moth, Red Meters

January 28th MEETING MINUTES

Welcome and Introduction

Designated Federal Officer (DFO) Hyndman and Secondary DFO Evelina Scott welcomed committee members and began the meeting. DFO Hyndman introduced the Office of Energy and Environmental Technologies' Environmental Technologies team. All committee members introduced themselves and their respective companies or organizations.

Agenda Overview & ETTAC Fundamentals Review

DFO Hyndman reviewed the meeting agenda and discussed ground rules. Items highlighted included the importance of consensus and using the ETTAC SharePoint site for document sharing and version control. It was decided by the committee that the next ETTAC meeting will take place virtually on April 15, 2025. DFO Hyndman also reviewed the mission of the ETTAC.

ETTAC Leadership Discussion

DFO Hyndman discussed the structure of the ETTAC and its subcommittees including an overview of ETTAC leadership roles. ETTAC members discussed expectations for serving in Committee leadership.

Breakout Discussions to Deliberate on Subcommittee Topics

ETTAC members broke out into three groups to deliberate on potential subcommittee themes. Each group was tasked to identify several key topics for recommendation letters and propose titles for each subcommittee.

Breakout Session Readouts and Group Discussion

The supply chain and circular economy group noted that the definition of supply chain should include people and labor, as well as the benefits of circular economy approaches. They also highlighted the growing importance of resource efficiency. The group presented Supply Chain Resilience, Circularity, and Efficiency (SCRCE) as the final subcommittee title for members' approval.

The export competitiveness and trade policy group discussed areas of prioritization such as focusing on the link between environmental technologies and national security and creating pathways for the U.S. government to support U.S. exporters. Discovering ways to enhance trade competitiveness and innovation was also discussed. The group presented Export Competitiveness and National Security as the final subcommittee title for members' approval.

The emerging technology and standards group discussed the impact of standards, conformity assessments, and research, development, demonstration, and deployment on innovative environmental technologies. Marketing and promotion were highlighted as other priorities to enhance U.S. export competitiveness and ensure market access. The group presented Enabling Innovative Technologies as the final subcommittee name for members' approval.

Working Lunch: Remarks and Q&A with Bart Meroney, Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary of Manufacturing

Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing, Bart Meroney provided welcoming remarks to the Committee, commending members for their service in the 2024-2026 ETTAC charter to ensure U.S. policies and programs advance the U.S. environmental technologies industry. Acting DAS Meroney underlined the importance of ETTAC recommendations in advancing free and fair trade for U.S. companies and supporting American workers. Lastly, he encouraged all members to reflect on ways to advance their industry while strengthening U.S. national security and economic resilience.

Discussion & Voting on Subcommittee Themes

The ETTAC discussed and refined subcommittee themes. The ETTAC voted to approve the names for each of the subcommittees: Supply Chain Resilience, Circularity, and Efficiency (SCRCE), Export Competitiveness and National Security, and Enabling Innovative Technologies. All were approved.

Presentation on Environmental Technology Programs from OEEI

Secondary DFO Scott gave a presentation introducing the International Trade Administration (ITA) and highlighting programs to support U.S. exporters of environmental technologies, including discussing tools and resources provided by the U.S. Commercial Service. She noted the availability of services for U.S. companies such as export counseling, advocacy, and market intelligence. She also highlighted the importance of the environmental technologies sector and the increased focus on supply chain resilience.

ETTAC Leadership Voting

The ETTAC voted for the Chair and Vice Chairs. Clare Schulzki was voted as the ETTAC Chair, and Lina Chiaverini and Ajay Kasarabada were voted as the ETTAC co-Vice Chairs.

Subcommittee Meetings

Each subcommittee convened their first official meeting and discussed priorities, reviewed subcommittee ground rules, and determined the timeline for future meetings. Subcommittee members selected Tom Dower and Dennis Calvert as co-chairs for the Enabling Innovative Technologies subcommittee, Chuck Chaitovitz and Jay Koh as co-chairs for the Export Competitiveness and National Security subcommittee, and Joseph Danyluk and Ashley Voskuhl as the chair and vice-chair of the SCRCE subcommittee.

Subcommittee Readouts

Each subcommittee highlighted priority topics they intend to focus on throughout the charter and discussed potential areas of overlap or cooperation between the subcommittees.

Next Steps, Public Comment

DFO Hyndman discussed next steps and Secondary DFO Scott noted that she will be hosting SharePoint office hours on February 4th. No issues were raised during the public comment period. The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing meeting minutes are accurate and complete.

Megan Hyndman Designated Federal Officer Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee

Clare Schulzki Chair Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee