International Trade Administration

Civil Nuclear Trade Advisory Committee (CINTAC) Meeting

Eighth Charter, 2022-2024

Thursday, March 14, 2024, 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. EDT In-person, HCHB Room 3407

MEETING MINUTES

10:00 – 10:05 Welcome and Roll Call

• Jonathan Chesebro, Designated Federal Officer of the CINTAC, U.S. Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration welcomed all the attendess and conducted roll call.

10:05 – 10:10 Review Meeting Goals

- Speakers:
- Ralph Hunter, CINTAC Chair and Carol Berrigan, CINTAC Vice Chair welcomed members and discussed planning for future meetings.

10:10 – 11:00 Discussion: TeamUSA Roundtable with CINTAC Members

- <u>Purpose</u>: U.S. Government (USG) interagency representatives from the TeamUSA Civil Nuclear Working Group engaged with CINTAC members updating the Committee on topics of interest and answering questions the committee posed relevent to their agencies' work.
- <u>Speakers</u>:
 - Lauren Joyce, Chief of Staff & Senior Policy Advisor, Office of International Nuclear Energy Policy and Cooperation, U.S. Department of Energy
 - Kirsten Cutler, Senior Strategist for Nuclear Innovation, Bureau of International Security and Nonproliferation (ISN), U.S. Department of State
 - Justin Friedman, Senior Advisor for Commercial Competitiveness in Nuclear Energy, ISN, U.S. Department of State
 - Carl B. Kress, Regional Director, Middle East, North Africa, Europe and Eurasia, U.S. Trade and Development Agency
 - EXIM
 - DFC.

11:00 – 11:30 Briefing: DOE Uranium Strategy

- <u>Purpose</u>: to receive an update on DOE's Uranium Strategy and how U.S. industry can support USG plans to revitalize U.S. domestic uranium production.
- Speaker:
 - John Carmack, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Fuel Cycle and Supply Chain, U.S. Department of Energy





 DAS Carmack updated the committee on DOE's efforts related to the Uranium supply and listed to concerns from the committee as to the future of that supply given the Russian invasion of Ukraine and a desire to stop US reliance on Russian Uranium.

11:30 – 12:00 Briefing: View from the White House

- <u>Purpose</u>: to receive an update on White House priorities on civil nuclear energy.
- <u>Speaker</u>:
 - Miriam D'Onofrio, Director for Energy Transition, National Security Council
 - Miriam shared some updates and asked the committee for input, with specific emphasis on nuclear fuel supplies.

12:00 – 1:30 Working Lunch - CINTAC Subcommittee Breakout Sessions

• <u>Purpose</u>: Subcommittee breakout sessions to discuss subcommittee charters, finalize working groups (if applicable), and identify priorities.

1:30 – 2:00 CINTAC Subcommittee Readouts

- <u>Purpose</u>: Subcommittees will provide readouts of their breakout sessions to the entire CINTAC.
 - FOAK Subcommittee

Discussed their proposed letter within the group – group voted on the letter and approved sending to Secretary a letter requestion that Department of Commerce/ITA update their top markets report

- <u>Supply Chain Subcommittee</u>
 The group discussed a proposed letter on fuel
- Edits made to letter members voted on letter and agreed to send to the Secretary.
- The Subcommittee decided to have Sean Oehlbert write an intial draft.
- Govt and Industry Gaps Subcommittee
 - Discussed proposed letter with members. Made minor edits to language
 - Scheduling suggested "TeamUSA Clearinghouse" to share information w industry on upcoming events (every month)
 - Financing what issues are the most possible to change to help industry. Will talk to Miriam as a subcommittee and report back to full committee.





2:00 – 3:00

Conclusion and Next Steps

- <u>Speakers</u>: Jonathan Chesebro, CINTAC DFO, and CINTAC Chair and Vice Chair.
- Members voted to have Carol Berrigan as Chair
- Ralph resigned from CINTAC

3:00 – 4:00 Public Comment & Adjourn

- <u>Members of the Public:</u>
 - O Justin Meyers, Senior Policy Advisor, Nelson Mullins

CINTAC Members

- 1. Mr. Billy Mack, President and CEO, Accelerant Solutions
- 2. Mr. Craig Piercy, Executive Director and CEO, American Nuclear Society (ANS)
- 3. Dr. Hash Hashemian, President, Analysis and Measurement Services Corporation (AMS)
- 4. Ms. Colleen Deegan, Vice President and Manager, Bechtel Power Corporation
- 5. Dr. Danielle Castley, Founder & CEO, Becq
- 6. Mr. Glenn Neises, Nuclear Director, Burns & McDonnell
- 7. Mr. Joshua Parker, Director of Business Development, BWX Technologies, Inc.
- 8. Dr. Yassin Hassan, University Distinguished Professor and Director, Center for Advanced Small Modular and Microreactors (CASMR) at Texas A&M University, Center for Advanced Small Modular and Microreactors (CASMR)
- 9. Mr. Sean Oehlbert, Vice President, Corporate Business Strategy, Centrus Energy
- 10. Mr. Nicholas McMurray, Managing Director, Public Policy, ClearPath
- 11. Mr. Ralph Hunter, Vice President, Constellation Energy Generation, LLC, and President, Constellation Generation Development, LLC, Constellation Energy Generation, LLC
- 12. Mr. Gary Wolski, Vice President, Sales, Curtiss-Wright
- 13. Mr. Donald Hoffman, Founder/President/CEO, EXCEL Services Corporation
- 14. Mr. Jarret Adams, Founder and CEO, Full On Communications, LLC
- 15. Mr. Adam DeMella, Senior Vice President, Global Government Affairs and Policy, GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy
- 16. Mr. Brandon Brooks, Senior Manager, Strategic Business Development, General Atomics Electromagnetics (GA-EMS)
- 17. Ms. Jackie Toth, Deputy Director, Good Energy Collective
- 18. Ms. Amy Roma, Partner and Global Energy Practice Area Leader, Hogan Lovells
- 19. Mr. Seth Grae, President and CEO, Lightbridge Corporation
- 20. Mr. Alex Polonsky, Partner, Morgan, Lewis, & Bockius LLP
- 21. Ms. Carol Berrigan, Executive Director, Federal Programs and Supplier Relationships, Nuclear Energy Institute
- 22. Mr. Ted Garrish, International Nuclear Trade Advisor, New Horizons Nuclear Associates (NHNA), LLC
- 23. Mr. Clayton Scott, Executive Vice President, Business Development, NuScale Power, LLC
- 24. Mr. Robert Sweeney, Head of Energy and Infrastructure, nXSolutions



25. Mr. Jeff Merrifield, Partner and Energy Section Leader, Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, LLP

26. Mr. Nathan Schukei, Sales and Business Development Manager, Rosemount Nuclear Instruments, Inc.

27. Ms. Marcia Burkey, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, TerraPower

28. Mr. Joseph Green, Chief Nuclear Officer, Thermal Engineering International (USA), Inc.

29. Mr. Alan Ahn, Senior Resident Fellow for the Climate and Energy Program, Third Way

30. Mr. Michael McMurphy, Senior Fellow, U.S. Nuclear Industry Council (USNIC)

