Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee (ETTAC) July 16, 2024 12:00-3:00 pm ET U.S. Department of Commerce – Commerce Research Library

The Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee (ETTAC) convened the ninth and final meeting under its 2022 – 2024 charter from 12:00 PM to 3:00 PM on July 16, 2024. The meeting was in-person only and was held at the Commerce Research Library in the Herbert C. Hoover Building.

ETTAC Members Present:

- Mr. Randy Baerg
- Ms. Dana Blumberg
- Ms. Lina Chiaverini
- Mr. Chuck Chaitovitz
- Ms. Anne Germain
- Ms. Cynthia Hartley
- Mr. Max Herzog
- Ms. Carrie Houtman
- Ms. Debra Johnson
- Mr. Ajay Kasarabada
- Mr. Joshua Mahan
- Mr. Jim Matharu
- Mr. Eric Reading
- Ms. Clare Schulzki
- Ms. Pauli Undesser
- Mr. Craig Updyke
- Mr. George Vorsheim
- Mr. Sean Wihera
- Dr. Peter Zemek

Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration (ITA) Officials Present:

Marisa Lago, Under Secretary for International Trade Grant Harris, Assistant Secretary for Industry & Analysis

Heather Evans, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing

Margaret Jackson, Senior Counselor for Policy

Megan Hyndman, Designated Federal Officer (DFO), ETTAC

Evelina Scott, Secondary Designated Federal Officer & International Trade Specialist, Office of

Energy and Environmental Industries (OEEI)

Victoria Yue, Senior Climate Trade Policy Specialist, OEEI

Anna Cron, International Trade Specialist, OEEI

Finn Dolezal, Intern, OEEI

Ana Reed, Office of Trade Agreements, Negotiations and Compliance (TANC), ITA

Jeff Eversman, International Economist, TPA-OTNA, ITA

Other U.S. Government Officials Present:

Mark Kasman, Office of International & Tribal Affairs, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Brianna Besch, Senior Advisor for the Trade and Economics Program, Office of International and Tribal Affairs, EPA Abigail Tierney, Office of International & Tribal Affairs, EPA Matthew Klasen, PFAS Council Manager, Office of Water, EPA Samantha Ebersole, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Department of Commerce Andrew Clark, Division Chief for Chemicals, Air Quality, and Waste, Office of Environmental Quality, Department of State Lydia Louis, Office of Environmental Equality, OES, U.S. Department of State Mark de Figueiredo, Director of the Office of Policy, Analysis and Engagement, Office of Fossil Energy and Carbon Management (FECM), Department of Energy Isabel Galdiz, Vice President, International Relations, EXIM Edward Rios, EXIM Jessica Henson, Deputy Director, Office of International Trade and Investment Policy, Treasury Department Claire Wang, Senior Advisor, Office of the Special Presidential Envoy for Climate, U.S. Department of Sate Tom Hardy, Director of Policy and Program Management, U.S. Trade and Development Agency

Members of the Public Present:

Karen Edwards, KCE Group Will Edwards, KCE Group Kristyn Oldendorf, SWANA Ashley Voskuhl, WEF

July 16th MEETING MINUTES

Welcome and Committee Business

DFO Hyndman and ETTAC Chair Schulzki welcomed the committee members and motioned to begin the meeting. DFO Hyndman provided an overview of the agenda. The committee approved the meeting minutes from the May 21st meeting as written.

Presentation of ETTAC Recommendations to Under Secretary Lago

Under Secretary of Commerce for International Trade Marisa Lago provided opening remarks. The ETTAC advisors introduced themselves and highlighted key themes from the 2022-2024 ETTAC Charter that are priority issues for the environmental technologies industry. These themes included market intelligence and trade promotion resources; the importance of codes, standards, and harmonization to market access; and the need for support for new and emerging technologies. Under Secretary Lago closed the session thanking the ETTAC advisors for their public service and commitment to better support the U.S. environmental technologies industry internationally.

Presentation of ETTAC Recommendations

ITA's Deputy Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing and Acting Co-Chair of the ETWG, Heather Evans, and Mark Kasman, EPA's Director of the Office of International Affairs and Acting Co-Chair of the ETWG, welcomed the ETTAC and interagency and thanked them for the astute set of recommendations produced this charter. Each of the three ETTAC subcommittees provided an overview of the recommendation letters they drafted during the 2022-2024 charter.

The Climate Change, Emerging Technology, and Innovation subcommittee presented on the Low-Energy Water and Wastewater Treatment and Reuse recommendation, the EXIM Bank Lending Terms for Climate Change Sector Understanding (CCSU) recommendation, and the recommendation on Carbon Management as it Pertains to 45Q Tax Credits and Rules.

The Trade Facilitation, Competitiveness, and Standards subcommittee presented on the <u>Technical Exchanges and Market Intelligence Roundtables</u> recommendation, the recommendation on <u>Engagement with the U.S. Trade and Development Agency</u>, and the recommendation on <u>Validation Services to Support U.S. Exports of Innovative Environmental Technologies</u>.

The Supply Chain and Circular Economy subcommittee presented on the recommendation on <u>Regulatory Barriers Concerning PFAS</u>, the recommendation for <u>U.S. Objectives in the UNEA</u> <u>Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee on Plastic Pollution</u>, the recommendation for <u>U.S.</u> <u>Government and Industry Support for the Fulfillment of the Global Methane Pledge</u>, and the recommendation on <u>Build America</u>, <u>Buy America</u> (BABA).

ETTAC-ETWG Joint Discussion of ETTAC Recommendations

Deputy Assistant Secretary Heather Evans and Director of International and Tribal Affairs Mark Kasman provided opening remarks before addressing each of the ETTAC's ten discrete recommendations by topic. Representatives from the Departments of State, Energy, and Treasury, the U.S. Trade and Development Agency, and the Office of Management and Budget provided responses to the committee's recommendations and provided time for questions and feedback by committee members.

The session closed with Director for International Affairs Mark Kasman and the International Trade Administration's Assistant Secretary for Industry and Analysis, Grant Harris, thanking the ETTAC for their service and their perspectives in formulating U.S. trade policy to support U.S. environmental technologies exports.

ETTAC Committee Business & Next Steps

Secondary DFO Scott led a presentation reviewing the final ETTAC Membership Survey results. The discussion highlighted the Committee's largely positive response and focused on how to improve member retention and enhance the advisory committee's experience. DFO Hyndman reviewed the ETTAC re-chartering process and next steps regarding recruitment for the 2024-2026 charter.

Public Comment

No issues were raised for public comment.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 3:00 P.M.

I hereby certify that, to the best of my knowledge, the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

Megan Hyndman

Megan Hyndman Designated Federal Officer Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee

Clore Schulzte

Clare Schulzki Chair Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee