UNDERSTANDING REGARDING IMMIGRATION MEASURES

August 5, 2004

The representatives of the Governments of the Republic of Costa Rica, the Dominican Republic, the Republic of El Salvador, the Republic of Guatemala, the Republic of Honduras, the Republic of Nicaragua, and the United States of America confirm the following understanding reached by our Governments in the course of negotiations regarding the Dominican Republic – Central America – United States Free Trade Agreement signed this day (the "Agreement"):

Contrar rimerica Cinted States Free Trade rigidement signed and day (the rigidement).
No provision of the Agreement shall be construed to impose any obligation on a Party regarding its immigration measures.
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF COSTA RICA:
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF EL SALVADOR:
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF GUATEMALA:
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF HONDURAS:
FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF NICARAGUA:

FOR THE GOVERNMENT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA: